Aloha


alohamovieposter

Alohuh?

If you came here hoping to learn a little more about what Aloha is about, I’m sorry to disappoint you, but I have no clue. The only thing I do know is director Cameron Crowe was pretty dedicated to bringing Hawaiian culture to the screen, though that doesn’t at all explain his choice in an almost all-white cast. The film probably worked on a purely conceptual level, but when it came time to put all the disparate ideas together, it seems everyone involved said aloha and decided to just enjoy the islands instead. You should too.

The film is light on Hawaiian scenery but heavy with the culture – there’s a lot of exposition to showcase various Hawaiian traditions, like mana and hula dancing. Despite this, the most thought-provoking thing about the movie is how so many big name stars signed on, including Bradley Cooper and Emma Stone, two of this year’s Academy Award nominees. They couldn’t have been interested in the script, which was immediately disengaging and tried to balance multiple, completely unrelated plot threads at once.

What was it, then? Is it too outrageous to suppose Cooper and Stone just wanted to relax and sip piña colodas on the beach for a few weeks while focusing on their other, more important roles? The music was pretty good. That’s really all I got. If no one could be bothered putting much effort into this movie, why should I?

1/5 stars

aloha emma stone

About Logan Krum Movie Reviews

Hi. I’m Logan Krum, now going into my third year of studying journalism at Temple University. I created this blog to help create a portfolio of my work as an entertainment journalist and screenwriter. Though I usually disagree with the Tomato Meter, I hope you enjoy my thoughts on current pop culture movies. I can be contacted at logan.krum@gmail.com.

Whataya think?

