One Direction: This Is Us


Image

Best Movie Ever

Hey everyone. I am pleased to introduce my blog’s first ever guest blogger, my little cousin Becca, or as she would prefer you call her, Queen Bee. Bee has dedicated a large chunk of her teenage years to worshipping worldwide boy band One Direction, and would like to share a few thoughts about the woes of being a fangirl and their movie This Is Us, which she has seen and closely studied three times.

One Direction: This Is Us hit cinemas in America on August 29 and made an estimated 18 million dollars through Labor Day. The movie had Directioners like me rushing to see it all around the world. Some were even lucky enough to attend the premiere in either London or New York City, where the boys and whoever they invited could come. The movie shows fans the personal and performing lives of Harry Styles, Louis Tomlinson, Liam Payne, Niall Horan and Zayn Malik, since starting on the X-Factor to becoming the world’s biggest boy band.

The definition of a Directioner (aka me): “Someone who stands by the band One Direction no matter what. Who would be there to support the boys 100%. Whether it’s acting, singing, dancing, anything… they’ll be there for it all. Even when the band grows up and goes on with their lives, these girls that call themselves “Directioners” will NEVER forget the happiness and the joy that Harry Styles, Niall Horan, Liam Payne, Louis Tomlinson, and Zayn Malik brought to them for so many years!”

The movie gives audiences a look at what the boys do on their time off; seeing anything from back stage rituals to just goofing off is what Directioners were really getting excited for. I of course went opening night to go see This Is Us with my two friends who are also big fans of the boys. The audience was amazing, from clapping after every song, booing when the Modest Management logo came up, screaming at their favorite boy, crying, laughing, or the much simpler version of all of this, FANGIRLING.  I wasn’t sure what I was in for, but I can tell you that it gave me a whole new perspective of how I view the boys.  Now I couldn’t just go see this once – I made my parents go see it with me the second time and then again with my friend Lauren when the extended version of the film came out, including 20 minutes of extra footage and 4 additional songs. I must say even if you aren’t a fan of One Direction I would recommend going to see this because then you might understand better what makes ‘Directioners’ so crazy about them.

Image

I became a Directioner back in 2011 when my two friends started talking about them in lunch one day. Since then I have become a HUGE Directioner. You can no longer see my walls in my room because of all the posters I have taped up, plus the two cardboard cut outs I have of Harry and Zayn. I could say they have basically taken over my teenage life at the moment. The first time that I have seen them in concert was back in November 2012 on the Today Show where I camped out for a total of 12 hours in the rain with no sleep and mostly standing the whole time due to the massive crowd.

Image

The second/third time I have seen them was when they came to Hershey for their Take Me Home Tour on 7/5/13 and 7/6/13. The first night when I went I had front row tickets thanks to my awesome parents, grandparents and my ‘other’ mom and dad. It was an AMAZING experience to which I will never forget and I am very thankful for. Harry Styles (my favorite) waved to me, gave me a thumbs up and made eye contact with me seven times during the concert followed along with me making eye contact with all of the boys at one point. The second night I was just in section 5, but it was still one of the best nights of my life.

The most recent time I have seen them was at the Today Show again, when they came in August 2013. This time we did not camp out, but instead waited outside of their hotel for 10 hours just hoping to catch a glimpse of one of the boys. During that time we saw Zayn slowly pass the hotel in his rental car and then speed off down the street where about 30 girls chased after him and apparently he just rolled down his window and said hi and left. Later that night we saw their band come out of the hotel to head to the Today Show for sound check which was pretty cool considering they waved to us. The last part of the night was when Harry and Niall came out in separate cars at the same time and I ran with my friend Gigi down to the red light they had and was up against their windows trying to get their attention. I guess you can call me one of those crazy fans.

Image

Besides seeing them in concert I have been to the One Direction store when it came to Philly with my awesome cousins, went to where the VMAs were being held and saw stars like Lady Gaga, Austin Mahone, Macklemore, Drake, 2 Chainz, Ne-Yo, Snooki & Jwwow, Kanye West and Robin Thicke, but sadly the boys came late and we left before they arrived because the next day was the first day of school. Throughout all these experiences I have made many new friends either by meeting them in person or through twitter. Without One Direction I would not even have one of my closest friends Lauren, so I guess you could say without them I wouldn’t have these friends.

The movie showed the boys going back to their hometowns in England and Ireland where they talked about their lives before X-Factor. The movie also had their parents’ perspectives on how the lives of themselves and their children changed the past 3 years to them and their thoughts about their success. The boys real personalities opposed to the media’s perspective of them was showcased throughout the movie, which I think made fans fall in love with them even more. People have to understand that they are just normal people like us with emotions and problems.

Image

Since the movie came out, Directioners on twitter have been going crazy with pictures, short videos, animated gifs and tweeting of their favorite part in the movie. It definitely got a great response from the fans. I know I will never forget these moments for the rest of my life, even when the posters come down and I’m not as into them as I am now. One Direction has changed my life forever and they will always be a big part of my teenage years. Some of you reading this may not understand what it’s like to be a Directioner, but go see the movie and you just might know what how we feel about the boys.

5/5 stars

 (I wish I could have 5/5 boys follow me.)

Image

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Logan Krum Movie Reviews

Hi. I’m Logan Krum, now going into my third year of studying journalism at Temple University. I created this blog to help create a portfolio of my work as an entertainment journalist and screenwriter. Though I usually disagree with the Tomato Meter, I hope you enjoy my thoughts on current pop culture movies. I can be contacted at logan.krum@gmail.com.

2 responses to “One Direction: This Is Us”

  1. 0207rawanj says :

    Reblogged this on Rawan's Blog and commented:
    This Is Us Movie. Best movie everr!!!!

  2. MJ says :

    Way to go Rabid FanGirl! You did a great job with your post. Kudos to your awesome cousin for giving you the opportunity to be his first guest blogger.

Whataya think?

