Ranking winter-spring 2013 movies (the fresh list)


Image

Picking up where I left off yesterday, I will continue ranking the 16 movies I’ve seen in 2013 so far, finishing the list by ranking the only 6 good ones. If you missed the ranking for the bad list, click hurr.

By process of elimination, these are the 6 movies I would ever want to see again, in the order I saw and reviewed them:

  • Silver Linings Playbook (2012 movie I didn’t see until 2013)
  • Warm Bodies
  • Evil Dead
  • The Purge (2013 summer movie, advanced screening)
  • Iron Man 3
  • The Great Gatsby

The thing with this list is it’s supposed to be only for movies that came out in the first four and a half months of 2013, yet 2 of my top 6 didn’t come from that time. That just goes to show how weak the year has been so far.

Time to finish this overly long list. If you want to read my full review of the movie, you can click the title and picture!

6. The Great Gatsby

Image

I myself am a little confused about why I put Gatsby on the #fresh list. I felt the need to rank Gatsby above Oblivion because, whereas I’ll be fine if I never see O again, I want to revisit Gatsby and make sure it actually is as not good as I said it was. The movie is either really good or ridiculously self-indulgent, and right now I’m leaning towards the latter, but my first impressions have been wrong before. My high expectations for this movie were not fulfilled.

Still, even if the movie did not live up to my expectations, it was still better than the 10 other movies on the #rotten list. So, wow.

5. Evil Dead

Image

What a groovy movie. I believe this is the only horror movie I’ve ever given a good review to (unless The Purge counts but that’s more of a thriller). Evil Dead focused on its story and characters as much as it did gore, and I value the story of a film above any other aspect. To put that in perspective, the film had Jane Levy slashing up a bunch of undead flesh-eaters while it rained blood, so that’s a lot of gore. Maybe not a lot of story, but it still had more than possibly any other horror movie I’ve ever seen.

4. Warm Bodies

Image 

2013 movies have been kind to dead things. This dramromzomcom (I don’t care how many times you’ve heard that joke, you heard it here first) is more heartwarming than a zombie movie should be, and probably has more heart than any other movie on this list, thanks to its hilarious cast. Like, when zombie Nicholas Hoult starts eating people’s hearts, you’re like, “Yeah man, I totally get that feeling. This movie is totally taking me there.” Is it on DVD yet?

3. The Purge

Image 

I promise you I am not merely star struck by the idea of attending an advanced screening of this movie, thus making me cooler than you. (Although, I may still be seeing stars from Jason Blum’s perfect hair.) I mean, sure, I won a pretty penny for tweeting about it, and yeah, Blum personally gave me a million dollars to give it a good review and talk up about it all the time. All that doesn’t affect my opinion in the slightest way.

But seriously, The Purge is an awesome movie. It’s been fairly quiet in contrast to the loud summer action movies being advertised, but make sure to squeeze it in on your movie calendar. I think they finally settled that it’s hitting theaters June 7. See it.

And that leaves two movies. A clash of metal; iron verses silver. Will Robert Downey Jr. blast Jennifer Lawrence into smithereens, or will she be able to use her Oscar as a shield?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think we’re done with boob jokes here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Iron Man 3

Image 

I professed my love for Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man many times in my review. Honestly he’s probably my favorite actor in my favorite role on this list, and that’s saying a lot, considering all of the zombies, zombie killers, and Jennifer Lawrences he’s up against.

When I saw Iron Man 3 I got so excited about it I went back and watched Iron Man 1 and 2 and The Avengers in one weekend. Then I tried to see 3 again but it was sold out on a Tuesday evening. As far as superheroes go I’ve stood by Spiderman vehemently my whole life, but now I have no choice but to let Iron Man share the throne.

1. Silver Linings Playbook

Image 

This movie has the unfair advantage of being old enough that I’ve gotten to see it once in theaters, once from renting on iTunes, and once when my friends wanted to watch it, and it got better every time. SLP is the kind of movie you need to watch more than once to fully appreciate, I think. In my review I said I liked Bradley Cooper more than Jennifer Lawrence in it, but after seeing her again she flipped my opinion. She’s so good it’s unfair.

This movie’s other unfair advantage is that it came out in 2012. Ah, 2012, the good old days, back when movies were good. The theme of this list was 2013 sucking, and having two movies not from early 2013 be in the top 3 of the early 2013 list speaks for itself. So props to Iron Man 3 and Warm Bodies, the real winners of the past four and a half months.

Tl;dr:

  1. Silver Linings Playbook
  2. Iron Man 3
  3. The Purge
  4. Warm Bodies
  5. Evil Dead
  6. The Great Gatsby
  7. Oblivion
  8. 42
  9. Dark Skies
  10. Oz the Great and Powerful
  11. The Croods
  12. Side Effects
  13. Spring Breakers
  14. Safe Haven…
  15. The Last Exorcism Part II
  16. Movie 43

Luckily, summer looks very promising. I’ve seen Star Trek already, which was awesome, and I’m in hyperly hyped for Now You See Me. Should I do another summer hype list? I feel like there have been enough lists recently, and my list last year proclaimed Snow White and the Huntsman to be the top contender. I dunno. Check soon for Star Trek.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Logan Krum Movie Reviews

Hi. I’m Logan Krum, now going into my third year of studying journalism at Temple University. I created this blog to help create a portfolio of my work as an entertainment journalist and screenwriter. Though I usually disagree with the Tomato Meter, I hope you enjoy my thoughts on current pop culture movies. I can be contacted at logan.krum@gmail.com.

Whataya think?

